Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

Another brick in the wall

on May 26, 2014

So.  The spiritual wall.  Sometimes that wall can be built by fellow believers by things they do and say.  We’ve got to be mindful of that possibility and seek to avoid hindering someone’s spiritual progress.   Each thing we err in, can become a brick in a wall.

If someone’s stepped out in faith towards something they truly believe God has called them to…but God’s not done the “grand reveal” yet…bombarding that person with (well-intentioned) “what ifs” and “did you considers” and “well what abouts” is not going to help them strengthen their faith.  And giving them a disbelieving look when they insist that, yes, they have been regularly checking in with God for guidance…that doesn’t help either.

Faith is believing in the unseen.  If one could see the future and have all the answers ahead of time, life wouldn’t require faith.  So then, what would we need God for?

Our flesh likes to be in control and know what’s going on at all times.  Our flesh makes us ask all those questions.  Faith takes those questions to God and awaits His answers.  He’ll reveal answers in His timing, whether we approve of His timing or not.  Faith grows when He delays an answer and we steadfastly trust Him anyway, even when many around us think we’ve gone cuckoo for Cocoa Puffs.

Every question I’ve been asked, I’ve asked God.  Repeatedly in some cases.  He’s God.  He knows what’s going on.  He sees the end from the beginning.  I don’t.  Continuing to ask Him isn’t going to make Him move any faster or reveal anything to me outside of His perfect timing.

He’s been faithful to me even in the years where I wanted nothing to do with Him.  He changes not, so I expect Him to remain faithful.

Even IF I’ve truly misheard Him for an entire year about this house thing–despite praying for confirmation every other day!–He has a perfect plan for my life, all things work together for good for those who are called according to His purpose, and He is Jehovah Jireh.  He will provide, one way or another.  His Word is true and I’m standing on it, despite my fear, despite the questions.

I know these things for certain:

–The anointing has been off my current residence for almost a year.  List as long as my arm of things going haywire.  And the Holy Spirit hit me hard with a “TELL THEM NO” when I asked whether I should renew my lease in June.  Firm.  Decisive.  Final.  No discussion.

–I’ve been feeling a call to step up my level of ministry at my church for over a year.  Living here hinders that call on several levels.

–God has not opened any doors to any homeownership alternatives to date.  All sane possibilities have been explored, and some insane ones too.  And I’m not too proud to revisit any of them if He leads me to.

–God has a perfect will and plan for EVERYONE, not just me–and every “rejection” I face is someone else’s acceptance.  Someone else just got their blessing.  Is my blessing more important than someone else’s?  No.  So I need to just wait my turn.

–This whole drama is unfolding in this way at this time for a reason.  I don’t know the reason.  I don’t need to.

 

I’m just waiting for God to show up and show out.

 

Anyone daring enough to put down the bricks,  lay the questions aside,  and wait with me?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

