Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

Wrestling match

on March 13, 2014

Part of the Christian walk, I’ve found, is occasionally running into seemingly contradictory commandments in Scripture, and getting in deeper with God to find out the nuances and shades of each, to find out what He’s really getting at.

That work confession list?  Yep, it’s done, and been confessing it.  Today was still an epic fail in the attitude and mouth department.  Was literally within minutes of going home early out of frustration.  Thankfully I got sent on a mission to assist someone elsewhere in the company, and was sufficiently distracted.  But I still ended up at the end of the day physically exhausted from stress and trying to figure out why I could not stay on track.

Felt a check in my spirit–“You are expecting the people to behave in a certain way, you are trusting them to do that–when you should be trusting Me.”

Do the work I’m supposed to do, and when I run into a roadblock that requires someone from another department to clear, trust Him to motivate them to do it, or trust that He will protect me from consequences if they don’t.  Either way, trust Him, not the people.  Trust Him and don’t try ‘motivating’ them on my own.

It is better to trust and take refuge in the Lord than to put confidence in man.  Psalm 118:8 (AMP)

Which I was fine with.  I know I’m being taken through a season of faith testing and this just seems like another faith test.  But then the following Scriptures occurred to me just a few minutes ago–

Love bears up under anything and everything that comes, is ever ready to believe the best of every person, its hopes are fadeless under all circumstances, and it endures everything [without weakening].  1 Corinthians 13:7 (AMP)

and of course, on the topic of love:   So now I am giving you a new commandment: Love each other. Just as I have loved you, you should love each other.  John 13:34 (NIV)

Now, obviously, I know our ULTIMATE trust needs to be in God.  EveryTHING is His; everyONE is under His dominion.

But how much (if any) trust should I be putting in people?  The above is one of many Scriptures that indicate NOT to trust, but trust is a vital component of love, and we are commanded to love one another.  So trust should be part of the package, yes?

Given the people I’m dealing with, there is a longstanding history of chronic letdown.  Hence the frustration.  I NEED them to come through and own their responsibilities in order for me to continue to do MY job with integrity and excellence, things I am compelled to as a Christian.  I can no sooner do a shoddy job than I can stop breathing.  But pretty much all jobs at my workplace have multiple moving parts that have multiple departments and individuals involved.  When one link in the chain doesn’t pull its weight, everyone else feels strain.  And no one of us can take on any of these processes in total–a) it would be far too much work and b) it would have Internal Audit and our external auditors in a rage.  So each step of each process is delegated to a specific individual, and we have to rely on each other to each do our part.

How much reliance do I release?  How much trust do I assign to the people doing the parts I can’t do?  How do I trust God AND show love in this situation?

I’m stepping on the mat.  Time to grapple.

Commentary more than welcome.

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

