Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

Field of faith

on March 8, 2014

As is usually the case, silence on here means getting tested hardcore in real life.

The current test: plumbing the depths of my faith and making it grow.

I sort of sensed at the beginning of the year that this year was going to be filled with major changes and events.  I haven’t been let down in that regard.

Death in the family? Check.

Friend getting married? Check.

Major upheaval at work? Check.  (And I sense the fun’s only beginning, employment-wise.)

Moving YET AGAIN?  Check.

But this time I’m not just moving.  Becoming a first-time homeowner.

And that’s where the faith test is coming in.

God seems to have a sense of humor.  I know I’ve been weak when it comes to totally trusting Him; still exorcising past demons that make it hard for me to trust ANYONE completely.  So what does He do?  Throw me into a process that leaves me swinging in the wind, clinging desperately to Him.  Either get faith or go crazy!!!

If He doesn’t make this happen, it won’t happen.  Since He’s kicked the door wide open for me to even be able to put in offers, I have to believe He’s going to take me through the rest of this process.

For now, I’m at a point where all I can do is wait…and trust.

I look to Abraham as an example.  God told him to leave the land of his family, and he just went.  God didn’t tell him where He was going to take him, but he went anyway.  No wonder his faith was credited to him as righteousness.  It takes insane amount of faith to just pack up everything you have and just start going somewhere like he did.  Didn’t know the destination.  Didn’t know how long he’d have to travel or what he’d have to travel through.  He just went.

I’m being asked to do similar.  I have no idea where I’ll be living past June 30th at this point.  I just know it’s not going to be here…the anointing is off this place and I need to move on.  And I’m putting everything I’ve got on the line to try and buy a house, because there’s way too many signs that this is what I should be doing.  But it’s not going to work unless God keeps His hand on the process.

And to that point, the other Biblical account that’s coming to mind is the Israelites’ journey through the wilderness.  God took them on a 40-year trek, but if they’d gone the straight route, the trip would have only taken 11 days.  He needed to test and prove them, so He dragged the trip out.  Seems I’m going through similar.  He’s not letting me have this the easy way.  In fact, I’m currently wrapped up in probably the most red-tape ridden purchase process possible.

So what can I take from what the Israelites went through?  Be thankful for His provision in the journey, and don’t complain about the process!!!  Just take action when told to and let Him work the rest of the time.  He is using this time to refine me.  To purge my need to have all the answers.  To give me revelation on “perfect love casteth out fear”.  To seek Him with all my heart and let Him add other things unto me.

He has been faithful in the past…as many times as I’ve moved, as crazy as the circumstances were surrounding some of the moves…He’s always kept a roof over my head, even during all those years when I wanted nothing to do with Him.

I need to focus on that, send up my praise and thanksgiving, and let my faith grow as I go through this process a step at a time.

And I need to get away from “I have to trust Him” and get over to “I get to trust Him”.  Faith in God is a privilege!  I don’t have to shoulder my own burdens, I can cast my cares!  He is with us always and helps us deal with our earthly concerns, He isn’t just leaving us down here to fend for ourselves.  We don’t have to go this alone.

Promised Land, here I come.

 

 

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

