Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

All In Your Head

on October 16, 2013

The Peter Furler track by the above title has been particularly relevant to me lately.  Combine some thoughts generated by our current ministry series at church (series deets here and blog here ), and the post I just wrote remembering a friend who got the most out of life…and the message of the song takes on even more urgency.

I’ve had the feeling for a little while now that I’m really not doing what I SHOULD be doing. That I gave up on my dreams some time ago, and that it’s time to recapture them and move toward them. Well, that feeling was confirmed very solidly by an exercise I did as part of the “homework” for our ministry message series. It was a pretty straightforward exercise–list and describe my accomplishments in various stages of my life, to figure out a common theme and “discover the direction of your heart”. Two points hammered home in the instructions: these had to be things I DID WELL and ENJOYED DOING.

List of things I’ve done well? I could write you a tome. But things I did well and ENJOYED doing? I struggled mightily to come up with some.

My main motivation for most of the things I’ve done wasn’t the enjoyment of the task, but one of two things: 1) to appease someone else’s stated or implied desires, 2) out of a sense of “I have to whether I want to or not”, like following some unwritten law. In both cases, complete external motivation.

One’s heart is internal motivation. So there’s a major disconnect here. The results: feelings of regret regarding how I’ve spent a good deal of my life, looking back at all I’ve “accomplished” and seeing emptiness in each thing, recognizing “heart atrophy” and understanding why I’ve had a hard time completely rekindling the fire. My passions never did die completely…they’re still there. God put them there. He built me for a specific purpose. But I’ve spent way too long fulfilling the world’s purposes for me, and not His. So it only makes sense that I’m coming up feeling like I’ve not made the most of my time here.

Well, no better time than right now, to get back on His track.

You wait
For the moment, like a watershed
When all you’ve heard and all you’ve read
Will push you toward your call

And you wait
The years ahead seem infinite
There’s plenty of time to figure it out
And then you’ll give your all

But you stall
And you stall

Get up, get off your seat, move your feet, just do what He said
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head
Forgetting what’s behind, now’s the time to go where you’re led
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head

You wait
You nod your head and take some notes
And cash your checks and cast your votes
And follow protocol

And you wait
Another verse, another song
A sinking sense you’ve got it wrong
You stumble and you stall

And you stall
Until that’s all

Get up, get off your seat, move your feet, just do what He said
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head
Forgetting what’s behind, now’s the time to go where you’re led
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head

And you wait
You save your best for last
And you wait
And then the moment’s passed

Whatcha waiting for? God’s holding the door for you
Where ya hiding out? There’s so much more for you
If you need a prompt He’s draining the swamp for you
Ready with a push, with a shove, with a kick of love

Get up, get off your seat, move your feet, just do what He said
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head
Get up, get off your seat, move your feet, just do what He said
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head
Forgetting what’s behind, now’s the time to go where you’re led
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head
Press on, press on for the prize, it lies up ahead
It lies up ahead
It lies up ahead
Forgetting what’s behind, now’s the time to go where you’re led
It’s all in your head
It’s all in your head

Many thanks, Mr. Furler, for the inspiration in these lyrics…on a number of levels. 🙂

One response to “All In Your Head

  1. Stacee says:

    I’m digging these lyrics. You need to play this for me then next time I’m over. I’ve never heard his work before. His message hits home with me too.

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

