Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

Something NOT overheard in your local meadow.

on October 8, 2013

“Yo, Shepherd dude, where we goin'”? 

Nope.  Sheep don’t ask where they’re going.  They just go.  Where their shepherd says, and when, as they are prodded.

But of course, I’m no ordinary sheep.  I don’t act very sheep-ly.

I wanna know where I’m going and how I’m getting there and when.

But that’s not how life works with God at the helm.  He leads;  we follow, no questions asked.

I know I’m being prodded toward certain things right now.  But I’m not comfortable with the lack of clear vision of the end result. 

I sense in my innermost that this time next year, I don’t know where I’ll be living or where I’ll be earning my provision or what I’ll be doing music-wise (with financial constraints being a concern).  I know I’m being pointed away from where I am now.  So I’m trying to make some sort of plan in each area…and it keeps getting derailed…

“Do not boast about tomorrow, for you do not know what a day may bring.” Proverbs 27:1 (NIV)

…OK, so I need to be more flexible with my goals and so on…but I’d still like a little more clarity on things…

“Yet you do not know [the least thing] about what may happen tomorrow.  What is the nature of your life?  You are [really] but a wisp of vapor (a puff of smoke, a mist) that is visible for a little while and then disappears [into thin air].” James 4:14 (AMP)

…so I’m getting a little too preoccupied with the things of this life…but I can’t just disregard them…I am still here, He’s not called me home yet…

“So don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will bring its own worries.  Today’s trouble is enough for today.” Matthew 6:34 (NLT)

…need to trust Him a day at a time, a step at a time…

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love.  Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries for tomorrow–not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.”  Romans 8:38 (NLT)

…no matter what happens, He loves me and He’ll do what’s best for me.  He’s loving me despite my constant questions.  He’s waiting for me to rely on Him for the answers and just go where He’s leading.  I am seeing the end result off in the fog, but only He knows the best way to get there.  He sees bumps in the road that aren’t even occurring to me, and knows the way around them.  I have to trust Him, and follow. 

Just follow.  No questions asked.

Baaa.

(time will tell how effective this lesson in humility and faith will be…dependent of course on my obedience level)

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

