Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

Baaaa?

on September 6, 2013

I am one confused sheep right now.

Got word a couple hours ago of my grandfather passing away.

And I feel…nothing.

“Oh, OK.”–is pretty much how I reacted.

I’m more bothered by the fact that I feel zero sense of loss  or pain, than I’m bothered about his passing.  Shouldn’t I be feeling something?  He is my own flesh and blood.

When I lost a co-worker earlier this year, I was an emotional wreck for weeks.  Broke down crying at the drop of a hat.

When I lost a sister in Christ in July, more tears were shed.  I still grieve that loss.  I still can’t listen to Building 429’s “Where I Belong” without thinking of her and losing it.

But Grandpa?  I’m thankful he died peacefully, and I know he’s home with the Lord, but I feel nothing beyond that.  And I somehow feel less “Christian” for that.

Shouldn’t there be at least something stirring in me?

There was no bad blood or anything…we were just never close.  I hardly knew him and he hardly knew me.  We saw each other very infrequently, especially over the last 15 years.

But even so, he’s family…shouldn’t I feel at least a twinge?

Focus for prayer in the coming days…

 

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

