Black Sheep Bass-ic Training

Doing The Christian Walk With A Funky Strut

Thankful

on August 30, 2013

Sometimes it’s the simple things.

Been a rough week at work.  Felt drained at the end of the day and still harassed…had an errand to run and had to be where I was going by a certain time, ended up leaving work late so had to rush to get there.  Did get there on time, noticed the skies clouding over on my way.  Once done, I came out of the office…to find the skies had really darkened up.  I had a mile and a half to walk to get home and this storm looked like it meant business.

I did the only thing anyone could do.  I prayed.  Begged Father to hold off on that rain until I got in the house.  And started hustling my butt home.  Speed walking a distance that normally takes 20 minutes or so, in jeans, in 94 degree heat and oppressive humidity, with clouds looking like they were giving me 5 minutes or less to get where I was going.

Every block I peeled off, I thanked Him for His protection, asked Him to keep providing it, and praised Him, stating my confidence that He could do it.

And He did it.

I shouted praises all the way up to my apartment, and 2 minutes after I got in the door, the skies opened. up.  Absolute deluge.  I was so incredibly grateful to not be in it, to be in my apartment, dry and safe.

Not a whole lot went according to plan this week, but this did, and to have this victory come when it did, was just the encouragement I needed.

Our God is a good God.  He blesses us with these “little things” every day, if we’ll keep our eyes open to see them.  I don’t ever want to get to a point where I overlook these things, or think something like this is “silly”.  Every second of every day, He is watching us and protecting us, and we need to be thankful for that.

One response to “Thankful

  1. Stacee says:

    The girls and I had a similar experience this evening. After dinner we decided to go on a walk. There was no breeze, very humid and sticky, so we left not anticipating any kind of trouble. As we rounded the block for the final stretch those nasty clouds came up and the wind started gusting. GG was riding her tricycle and couldn’t keep going because of the wind. So I grabbed it and told her to run to the house. Not 2 minutes after we shut the door, the rain started pouring down in sheets. Crazy stuff! I’m glad you made it home safe and sound too.

Leave a Reply

Holy Soup

with Thom Schultz

differentlonestar

An Autistic Christian Techie

Kiffblog

Bring it on

Grace for the road

Seeing God's goodness in the unexpected path.

Hartin Soul

Spiritual reflections, random musings, and commentary on life.

